Interview: Ameeta Sinh

Ameeta Sinh is a former National Badminton player, politician, mother, wife and daughter. A woman who has juggled multiple roles her entire life, she is no stranger to changes and transitions, facing the challenges life has to offer with grace and dedicating herself to public service. She is currently working tirelessly with AIPC along with her several other projects.

In an exclusive she talks about her struggles and achievements as a person constantly transitioning within different realms, learning, being committed to working towards what she believes in and contributing to make the system a better place.

 

To begin with let’s uncover the relationship you have with Badminton. How did your journey begin with this sport?

It started with school and regular sport classes but when I look backward I really relate this to my mother. She was a very structured lady who believed that every minute of your time should be constructively utilized. She realized that I was an energetic child and she initially put me in swimming because according to her energies in children should be directed to focused activity besides academics. I started swimming at state level for Maharashtra but by the time I turned eleven my mother decided to take me away from swimming, for reasons best known to her, and to structure my evening better she put me in Badminton. From there my journey started

 

Did you fear the competition?

My mother recreationally played badminton and her colleagues were national players. She feared competition, she feared defeat, she feared the matches so the first thing she got me to do was to enter competition. I went in with my own fears and then I took off. I won some, I lost some realizing that defeat and victory don’t have much difference- it was a momentary feeling. And that’s how sports made my life a balanced one.

 

Did you face any challenges being a sports person?

Today sports is a much more accepted thing in the country but at the time when I was playing it was looked at very recreationally. Today it is looked at as a proper career. Despite that they still don’t have the social security that is important for their career because this is a very limited career and sports should have some proper security backed by the government.

Today a career in sports would include sports training, sports medicine, sports psychology and proper analysis focused on the sportsperson. It was not a part when I played. Badminton is a sports where you do not need that kind of muscle power which you see for a girl who is weightlifting or for other athletics. Here there is more agility combined with speed and reflexes and the training itself is different. Maybe retrospectively I could look at certain things and there might be something but it didn’t come up at that time. If you look at sports in general then having a muscular body is more acceptable for a man than it is for a woman. It wasn’t an issue in Badminton but if it was some other sport then I would have gone along with its demand.

 

From Sports you went into politics. What prompted that and was the transition smooth?

I never opted for politics. I got married into a political family. For the first ten-fifteen years after my marriage I was a silent spectator, passive supporter. I supported the family’s thoughts, ideologies and passion with my back-up. There were adjustments that I have to make coming from a completely different family. The visitors were many more and I flowed into that life easily and did not resist it. But getting myself into active politics was a decision that my husband took on account of my empathetic approach to the under privileged and commitment to social work

 

What were the difficulties you faced during your transition?

I started with just campaigning for my husband which family does anyway. He took it to the next level and thought that I could manage the constituency if I was give one. I didn’t get much chance to opt out of it. I was a reluctant starter. There was reluctance and fear because I had also shifted from Maharashtra to UP, there was a cultural difference coming to Amethi. Language played a huge role as I had grown up studying in English and my mother tongue was Marathi. I didn’t have a proper command of the Hindi Language.

 

How did you start your political journey?

My step forward started with an election. I did not start with organizational work, wading my way through. I fought the Zilla Panchayat Ward elections, followed by the Election to the post of Zilla Panchayat Chairman. When I won, I realized the responsibility that goes with it. The expectations of the voters is something I took seriously. Today I am not only involved, committed and serious but enjoying the journey. The path is tough but also an opportunity, a huge platform to realize your dreams and those of the under privileged.  It’s a journey which has taught me a lot and I feel like I have this great platform to reach out to many people with the thoughts and concepts I started. I really look at myself blessed to have this opportunity.

 

What is your opinion on Indian politics?

I look at politics as a very positive, good platform for people to come in. I know it runs out with a thought of negativity, where people feel that it is a very cut-throat kind of a thing, they say that not many good people are into it but I say that there are. You have to combat a lot more because it is a very large platform where there are no basic rules. Which is why it sometimes becomes a struggle.

 

You have been juggling with so many roles your entire life. What has been the one driving factor behind all of it?

I am a bit of a perfectionist. It is an internal suffering. Currently, I am juggling with responsibilities. I am a mother, I am a wife, I have my political responsibilities and the society at large. I live between Amethi, Lucknow and Delhi and they are all different worlds all together. There are so many more challenges that you keep facing. I think my own upbringing was my drive. I credit a lot to my mother who has been a very powerful personality in my life  

How did you get into All India Professional Congress (AIPCC)?

Around august this concept of AIPCC was being developed between Dr. Tharoor and Rahul Gandhi. I believed in this idea of Professionals coming forward in Nation Building. I wished to contribute to my party organizationally, and I was fortunate to have been given this opportunity to build the youngest arm of the Indian National Congress leading in The State of Uttar Pradesh.
The creative side of me got this opportunity of doing something constructive.

 

What are the differences you find in Grassroot politics and organisational politics?

There is a vast difference. Grassroot politics is considerably need based but AIPCC is solution based. Grassroot politics is basically catering to the needs and aspirations of the constituency socially, politically, infrastructure wise, economically looking at growth and development.I have Professionals who are qualified to give me solutions which is why I feel like it is completely different. It is so educative. You learn something of a completely different dimension. You learn something from a different profession because you cannot know it all.  At grassroot people look up to me as to what I can give while at organisational level people want to give solutions to me. I am trying to bring two ends of this scale meet and if these two meet then I believe India would be made.

What advice would you give to young girls who look up to you?

I often counsel girls that if you want to achieve anything in this world then you must believe that you not less than a man. I believe in Gender Equality. I believe that we come as human beings in this world. We have the right to do everything equally but how you avail your opportunities is entirely up to you. I believe a woman makes a home but this shouldn’t defy us, it should not stop us. For me my first priority would be my home and my family. If I cannot be happy here then how could I be happy outside.

, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *